Welcome to Dinas Powys Tennis Club
Dinas Powys Lawn Tennis Club has a variety of floodlit courts where members enjoy playing tennis both socially and within a competitive environment.
These surfaces include…
- 9 artificial grass courts.
- 3 macadam courts.
- 6 courts being floodlit
We have a comprehensive coaching programme administered and delivered by Rob Walbyoff. Rob is a former junior international standard player, having played at Wimbledon and also Devonshire Park, Eastbourne. He is a fully licensed, level four LTA Tennis coach and has thirty years experience in coaching, nutrition and fitness training. See our coaching section for more information.
Our club always welcomes new members. If you have played before please come to one of our ‘social mix-in days’. If you haven’t played before or are very rusty our resident coach will be delighted to arrange lessons for you.
We run a variety of fun and competitive tournaments throughout the year and have a strong, vibrant Junior section. Details of specific events can be found on our notice boards and in the events section of our website.
In the later years of the 19th Century, tennis was a social outlet and was played locally on private courts in The Mount, Elm Grove House and elsewhere. In 1901, the year Queen Victoria died, a number of interested individuals decided to form a tennis club in Dinas Powys and they obtained the consent of the then Lord of the Manor, Major General H.H. Lee, to lay three courts where Dinas Powys Bowling club now stands.
In April 1902, a meeting was held in the Cross Keys Inn, to inaugurate the formation of the Dinas Powys Club House Company Limited as a vehicle to hold possession of the land on a yearly agreement from the General. The shareholders of the newly formed company were to be tennis club members; in fact it was a condition of membership that a share should be taken up.
By the end of May 1902, a wooden pavilion had been erected fronting St. Andrews Road. By 1904 a total of six grass courts had been laid out. By this time financed had been formalised and at an AGM the accounts from October 1901 to February 1904 were presented to members.
In 1905/6 the first three tennis courts were used as a bowling green and three more courts were constructed. In 1907 the club was renamed the Dinas Powys Lawn Tennis and Bowling Club.
In 1912 the General agreed to the sale of the land to the Tennis and Bowls Club for what he described as ‘a low price to the benefit of the Parish’.
This situation continued until 1922 when demand for the grass to be cut on a Saturday morning for both the tennis and bowls proved too difficult for the groundsman to manage. This led to discord and the result was that the club was split and the tennis club reverting to tennis only and the bowling club becoming independent. From that time on the two have remained on the best of terms.
In 1923 a new tennis pavilion was built at a cost of £650. In 1928 three more courts were built and in 1954 the field adjoining Bryneithin was put on the market for sale. The part fronting St Andrews Road became building plots and the remainder came to the tennis club and in 1974 three new shale courts were constructed.